Fall 2012 – Something for Everyone

I’ve said it before, but one of my favorite things about anime is how diverse the medium is. We get new stories in basically every possible genre… every season of the year! This past year I’ve generally ended up watching four or five shows each season–more than that is pretty difficult to fit into my schedule, especially if I ever want to watch any older series (which I do… though it usually takes a while). So what have I decided on for this fall season, now that I’ve watched the first episode of each show that piqued my interest?

art by aki-t

From the New World – I can’t remember the last time I was this excited about the setting of an anime. It’s easy to see this is being adapted from a full-blown award-winning novel, and I greatly look forward to learning more about this world with each passing week. I hope the characters and plot will likewise develop in engaging ways.

NOTE: I am blogging this episodically at Sea Slugs. Here’s episode one, and here’s episode two. Episode three will probably show up this weekend?

Zetsuen no Tempest – I’m really tempted to jump back to the manga and read through every chapter that’s out so far… but I think I’ll resist and enjoy the anime for now! I am completely hooked on this series–it’s just *so* dramatic, and I love how all the characters are intelligent and have their own goals in mind as they use each other.

Kamisama Hajimemashita – This is basically everything I could want in a lighthearted shoujo. I have to say the execution for the anime feels like an improvement from the manga–the colors, animation, and especially the voices really bring everything to life. Tons of fun, and the likeable protagonists have gotten a lot of laughs from me.

NOTE: A part of me want to blog this episodically, but I’m not sure what I’d actually talk about. Episode Two: TOMOE TURNS A POP STAR INTO AN OSTRICH!!! AND PLANS TO COOK HIM FOR DINNER!!! THIS IS THE BEST SHOUJO COMEDY EVER. Actually, I may just do that.

art by tenshi-no-hikari

K – Still need to see episode two, but if it’s anything like the first episode then I’ll be very pleased and will keep watching. That premiere was just a thrill to watch. The animation was amazing, and I rather liked the amusing protagonist Shiro-kun. There’s a lot of little plot elements that have intrigued me as well, so I’ll have to see how things play out.

Can’t wait for this episode.

Little Busters – Okay, the first episode reminded me a ton of Angel Beats and a ton of Clannad… which makes sense, obviously (same creator and all). I’m still in the middle of Clannad, but I’ll probably keep watching this too in the meantime. It looks like it will be lots of fun! Well, until everyone’s tragic pasts are discovered. Or another kid gets killed by bees and fire.

So I think those are the five shows I’ll be watching each week! But that can always change, of course. Here are my thoughts on all the other shows I watched the first episode of:

My Little Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun – I enjoyed what I read of the manga for this, but the anime just didn’t engage me as much. So I figured I’ll probably just keep reading the manga (some time).

Hayate the Combat Butler Oooh Baby Do You Know What That’s Worth- I thought this was pretty funny, but I really felt I needed to be more familiar with the original series (either the anime or manga) to really appreciate it all. I think I’ll try to watch more of the original anime (some time).

Regardless of This Anime’s Ridiculously Long Title, I Want to Throw Something at the Creator of that Seizure-Inducing OP! – Chuunibyou stars two characters that annoyed me and repeated the same joke fifty times, so I’ll have to pass on this.

Sukitte Ii na yo – I was actually pretty surprised how well-done this was! It took some artistic license in adapting it from the manga, and I think it payed off for the most part. (Though the kiss sequence did feel a little random… Was that her life flashing before her eyes??) I might actually keep watching this if I can find the time, or if K or Little Busters lets me down.

Psycho Pass – So the first episode for this was really well done. But DANG is this show dark! I don’t know if I’m up for 21 more episodes of this, to be honest. I may marathon some of this later on in the season if I keep hearing good things about it, and if I’m in the mood for something grim.

Robotics;Notes – I was pretty excited for this, but WOW was I bored in this first episode. I don’t get why the entire school isn’t excited about building a GIANT MECHA, or how this boy lead can be so dull. That said, I can see this turning out to have decent character development in the long run if it’s handled well. Will keep this on-hold for now.

Tennis Thing – There was a two-minute thing about two kids playing tennis… I think. I’m not quite sure what it was I watched.

I think that’s everything I’ve seen, and I think I’ve got a good variety of anime to blog about for the season.

(points to the computer screen)

What are you watching this fall?

6 responses

  1. My watch list is Little Busters!, Chuunibyou, and Psycho Pass, although I think many of the other series look interesting as well. College is a pain.

    I think fall is a season that consistently delivers the most interesting upon preview, at least in my opinion. Been that way every year with a few exceptions.

    October 13, 2012 at 2:55 am

    • I feel that this whole year has had a lot of really spectacular anime… Natsume Yuujinchou Shi, Fate/Zero, Tsuritama, Acchi Kocchi, and Humanity Has Declined were all thoroughly enjoyable for me, and are probably my top five so far. I hope at least two or three anime this season will really deliver as well!

      October 13, 2012 at 10:09 pm

  2. NormalMar

    I’m surprised at how many of the shows I want to keep watching. I might drop some later, but this is promising. Not all of the shows are fantastic by any means, but most of them are fairly entertaining.

    I’m really enjoying your posts on Shin Sekai Yori. That’s probably my favorite so far of the season (even though it’s still early.) That show oozes atmosphere, and I love how you pick up on themes or foreshadowing that I sometimes miss.

    October 14, 2012 at 10:09 am

    • Hey, I’m glad to see a Sea Slug reader has found my blog! I’m really excited to blog Shin Sekai Yori episodically, and hopefully I can put a post together for ep 3 tomorrow… It’s looking very promising.

      October 16, 2012 at 11:05 pm

  3. Rei

    You should definitely find the time to watch Sukitte II na yo! :D I liking how it’s turning out and it’s pretty much more realistic than Tonari. I like Tonari too it is soo much fun to watch, full of stupid thing happening around the show.

    As for Robotics;Notes yeah I feel it’s quite boring too because there isn’t really anything interesting going on yet. I’ll continue watching it as this is as close as I can get out of Steins;Gate before the movie release.

    Psycho Pass does look dark but it has that Ghost in the shell kinda of feeling which I like. I wasn’t expecting it to be more than 13, if it goes well i’ll continue if not i’ll just put this on-hold or drop it.

    October 15, 2012 at 10:06 am

    • I’ll be keeping Sukitte in mind for when I have the time–I’m curious to see how it will approach future episodes, at least.

      Psycho Pass also reminded me a lot of Ghost in the Shell, which I also didn’t really get into despite recognizing its storytelling merit. Perhaps I will be more in the mood for such stories some time in the future.

      October 16, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers