Fall Preview Via Manga: Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

There are about 78 anime blogs that do season previews better than I ever could, so I’m going to try throwing together a six-part feature here, which I hereby dub FALL PREVIEW VIA MANGA. I’m doing this because six of the upcoming fall anime that have piqued my interest are based on manga! So I’m going to give the first volume of each one a try and post my thoughts here on my blog. Then I may do some compare and contrast with the anime when they start to air?

For my first post in this series, I will focus on Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun. I believe this means My Neighbor Monster-kun! It already sounds pretty good, doesn’t it?

Chapter One – Shizuku Mizutani is a studious girl, and Haru Yoshida is a wild delinquent! And by studious girl, we mean very studious girl (to the point of not caring about anything but her studies). And by wild delinquent, we just mean he’s got a tsundere outlook toward school since everyone treats him like a wild delinquent.

Chapter Two – Yoshida is basically an idiot, and making it hard for Mizutani to study! But wait… is he really an idiot? Also: Holy crap, this chapter is ALL OVER THE PLACE. Did all these ups and downs really happen in just one chapter?

Chapter Three – ENTER SIDE CHARACTERS. There’s a girl named Natsume who is basically an idiot, an old peer of Yoshida, and a chicken. And I’m pretty surprised at how quickly Mizutani’s character is developing! Isn’t this a bit too fast? I wonder where this series will go from here…

Chapter Four – A bit of a disjointed chapter, or perhaps some things were just lost in translation? Regardless, it was still rather funny, and there was some plot development? Plus a cliffhanger of sorts.

Final Thoughts: Suffice to say Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is not a series meant to stand out by its premise. There’s plenty of shoujo romcoms with a setup similar to this, so in the end it’s up to the manga’s execution to give it merit. Overall I liked the lead characters enough to want to read/watch more of this story. Mizutani reminds me a bit of Ouran Host Club’s Fujioka (though she looks like the lead from Arcana Famiglia), while Yoshida reminds me a bit of Gilbert from Pandora Hearts. All in all their interactions were humorous and/or cute, which is good for a start when it comes to this genre.

Verdict: Plan to watch this fall, and may read more of the manga too.

5 responses

  1. I never realized that four small panels could make me care so much about the plight of a rooster.

    Also, you’ve been nominated for an award: http://atthebuzzershow.com/2012/08/29/the-lovely-blog-award/

    August 29, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    • A truly epic moment in Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun. Look forward to seeing that chicken in glorious color and animation…
      Thanks for the award, Buzzer!

      August 31, 2012 at 11:41 pm

  2. The manga actually gets considerably better. It’s not original but the comedy from Haru Shizuku really makes it great.

    September 4, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    • Haru is very amusing, but I think the story’s comedy succeeds particularly thanks to how he and Shizuku act as foils for one another. They’re both socially awkward–but for completely different reasons. Their personalities are very different, but they’ve somehow ended up in the same boat… and the zaniness that ensues is pretty hilarious.
      This does remind me even more of Ouran Host Club now, when I look at it this way.

      September 4, 2012 at 9:45 pm

  3. Pingback: Fall 2012 Anime Preview | Sea Slugs! Anime Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers