Answers for the Interrogation Carnival Dealie

Chikorita157 has asked me some questions! I ought to answer them. It’s all part of a game for anime bloggers, as Chikorita explains in this post.

1) Which Anime from 2011 do you enjoy the most?

Nichijou! It’s easily my #1 favorite anime comedy ever. You can also find my top 6 of the 2011 year here, for other series I greatly enjoyed.

2. Do you play video games? If so, what kind of games do you play? Also, what consoles do you currently own?

I do like games, though it tends to take me at least half a year to get through one these days! My favorite genres are JRPG and survival horror. I just have a PS2 and my laptop right now, but at the moment I’m enjoying Fatal Frame, Persona 4, and the Carpe Fulgur games (Recettear, et al).

3. Do you currently study the Japanese Language? If so, what method did you take. If not, why?

Yes, I’m trying to refresh my memory of all the things I supposedly learned over two years in college. Right now I’m using Heisig’s Remembering the Kanji, the Pimsleur Japanese CDs (thanks, library), and a Japanese for Busy People textbook. I’m also speaking with people from Japan on a semi-regular basis, which is probably the biggest help. Even with daily study over nearly a year though, I hardly feel I’m making much progress. =/

4. What are your favorite Japanese singers and/or composers?

I don’t follow music in general very closely, so I end up just listening to music from anime and games that I’m currently engaged in. But thanks to Pandora Hearts, I’ll have to say Yuki Kajiura is my favorite composer. Absolutely beautiful soundtrack for that series. Her work for other anime are typically quite good too.

5. How do you taste test shows you haven’t seen?

Ah… I’ll usually only try out series that sound interesting (namely via the synopsis), but even then I’m willing to drop an anime after one episode if it fails to engage me. Going by the last few seasons, there’s always been at least three or four anime I’ve really enjoyed, so I don’t mind dropping the series that don’t impress me. For older series, I’ve gotten plenty of recommendations for anime I want to try out some time. And sometimes I see a really good AMV or read a really good review (on a blog), which will encourage me to try out a show more quickly.

Thanks for the questions, Chikorita! I would ask some too, but I can’t come up with any good ones at the moment.

4 responses

  1. 1. I enjoyed Nichijou, although it wasn’t the best show in 2011 (and due to it’s nature, I couldn’t really blog about it). It took awhile to start enjoying the show a bit more, but it’s a good comedy with a different direction compared to previous shows from Kyoto Animation.
    2. Believe it or not, I do have Recettear on my computer and I got only 2/4 of it. Haven’t finished it since most of the time, I spend playing on handheld gaming consoles such as the DS/3DS and the Vita I got for my birthday (currently playing Japanese PSP games on it since there isn’t any games on the Vita I want yet).
    3. Talking to native people in Japanese is a good idea, although I don’t know anyone there. But in general, reading Japanese material is probably a good idea as a good practice technique. Could also build vocabulary as well, providing that the words are added to flash cards. Still, I can’t help the fact that some of the grammar I learned aren’t frequently used… but don’t feel discouraged.
    4. Yuki Kajiura believe it or not is respected by many bloggers in the anime blogosphere and I do enjoy her music from her current project, Kalafina. Haven’t listened to her other projects like FictionJunction due to my limited Anime watching.

    Aside for that, interesting responses and thanks for spending the time answering them.

    August 24, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    • 2) Recettear is lots of fun! I’ve won the main story to it (ie paid off the debt), but it’s one of those games where there seems to be much, much more to do after you’ve “won the game.” And I would like to get a handheld system one day–most likely a PSP, since that has Corpse Party. (Not to mention a thousand JRPGs and the ability to play games from Japan region-free. It seems every third anime in recent years has a PSP game.)
      3) I really want to try translating something some time… I have a children’s light novel I should take a crack at, thanks to its furigana and large text (and presumably simpler sentences).

      August 24, 2012 at 11:20 pm

  2. Nice to hear that someone else is enjoying the Carpe Fulgur games as much as I am right now. Fortune Summoners is taking all my sweet free time, Recettear is just awesome and I’m glad you enjoy it.

    You like survival horrors? Are you planning on getting that Fatal Frame 2 remake for the Wii if it ever comes out in the US (I assume you’re not living in Europe or Japan lol)?

    August 29, 2012 at 9:13 am

    • I’ve played through the prologue chapter of Fortune Summoners, and it’s got to be the most adorable game ever created. I will have to play through the rest of the game eventually…
      I don’t own a Wii, but I do own Fatal Frame 2 on the PS2. I plan to play it after I finish the first Fatal Frame. I’m slow with video games though, so it may be a while! I love the general premise and atmosphere of this series though, so I will probably blog about the games one day.

      August 31, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers