Winter 2012 Draws to a Close, and Spring 2012 Begins to Bloom

First of all, if you haven’t been keeping up with YumeState or Sea Slugs lately, be sure to check out some of my latest posts:

So what are my thoughts on winter anime? There were four shows I watched all the way through, and one of them still has three more episodes left. And I thought all four shows were great! I’ve written a lot on all of them recently, so I’ll just give ultra-mini-reviews here:

  • Natsume Yuujinchou Shi – More heartwarming and wonderful episodes about the sweetest boy in the world. I wished there could have been more in the way of plot developments (at times I admittedly felt the series was dragging its feet, even for Natsume Yuujinchou), but overall I still love the series very much.
  • Another – Fascinating and intriguing mystery horror series. I really enjoyed trying to piece together the puzzle behind all the mysteries, and felt the dark atmosphere in general was portrayed very well. Things got a bit too chaotic toward the end, but I was satisfied with the conclusion overall.
  • Kill Me Baby – Ridiculous and harmless comedy. Everything about this show screams both low-budget and uber-kawaii, turning the anime into a bizarre sort of satire. Certainly not one of my top anime comedies, but it got me to laugh on a regular basis, thanks to the characters’ ridiculous antics.
  • Mirai Nikki – I remember thinking how crazy this show was back in the first few episodes. Wow. This show is so insane, I never could have guessed half of the plot twists this anime has thrown out lately. It has a very “Screw conventional storytelling!” feel to it, while employing (nearly) non-stop fast-paced excitement. I’m intrigued to see how this will end.

With the end of winter also comes the beginning of spring, and this upcoming season has a lot of interesting anime to look forward to. You can find some of my thoughts on the next season here at YumeState and here at Sea Slugs. I won’t know what shows legitimately interest me until I see their first episode or two, but here’s what I’m thinking at the moment for the anime that at least sound intriguing.

DEFINITE WATCH

  • Fate/Zero – I can’t wait. This really has the potential to be the best action drama I’ve ever seen.
  • Kimi to Boku – I enjoyed the first 13 eps well enough. The next bunch should be good too.
  • Tsuritama – This sounds really clever and fun, and has an interesting art style. I’ll be very sad if it’s lame.

LIKELY WATCH

  • Jormungand – This looks like an interesting action series. I’m particularly curious about the child soldier protagonist.
  • Hyouka – I really like mystery, and the animation for this is very impressive. I hope the characters are interesting.
  • Kuromajo-san ga Toru!! – This looks cute and funny, and it’s only 5 minutes. Hopefully it gets subbed…

ALSO POSSIBLY CHECKING OUT

  • Yurumates 3D – might be funny, and it’s only 5 minutes.
  • Acchi Kocchi – might be funny?
  • Polar Bear Cafe – might be funny… or at least meme-worthy.
  • Accel World – might be exciting? The animation looks quite nice.

I will continue blogging an anime episodically for Sea Slugs, so look forward to that. For the rest of my spring anime stuff, I’ll be posting mostly at YumeState from now on. That means this blog will deal more with random thoughts I have on various anime (such as shows that aren’t currently airing), as well as most my manga posts. Plus other random stuff that would be more fitting here than elsewhere.

ALSO! Be sure to check out our monthly Anime Watchers Club at YumeState. We will be watching Aoi Bungaku for April, so if you’re intrigued by that anime, be sure to watch and comment on our weekly posts! It looks to be an interesting show to discuss.

3 responses

  1. Rei

    Definitely watch Tsuritama and Acchi Kocchi. The other anime that I would like to suggest for you to watch would be Sakamichi and Space Brothers. This 2 are probably the top anime this season. Jormungand is good as well, if you watch Black Lagoon you will probably have a clear picture on how the anime will be like. I am still waiting to see how Hyouka will be like. I just hope it will be good.

    April 21, 2012 at 11:17 am

    • Yes, Tsuritama is excellent, and Acchi Kochchi has been fun too. I’m not interested in jazz though, so I don’t think I’d care for Sakamichi. And I didn’t like Space Brothers too much, unfortunately. I gave it three episodes, but I didn’t really connect with it I suppose.
      But I’m looking into Jormungand and Hyouka–they both seem pretty interesting.

      April 23, 2012 at 11:19 pm

      • Rei

        I’m not really interested in Jazz but I watch it for the story. It’s really good and if you like music even some other genres i’m sure you are going to appreciate Sakamichi. That is sad to know, Space Brothers was really good and I really don’t know what you are interested in. Oh well..

        April 23, 2012 at 11:52 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers