Steins;Gate (Ep 9-16)

Many comments I’ve noticed online for Steins;Gate go along the lines of “the beginning starts off slow, but once things pick up about half-way through, the series is amazing.” And now I’m starting to see what people are referring to… WOW!
So last time I mentioned how I really liked the protagonist Okarin, thanks to his engaging personality and amusing antics. But now that the plot has taken a very serious turn, he’s likewise shown much more of his serious side. (Great voice acting by Mamoru Miyano, by the way. I was quite surprised to find out he’s the same guy who voices Light from Death Note and Tamaki from Ouran High School! Brilliant!)
At the same time, Okarin’s relationship with the rest of the cast has been expanded upon, adding more depth to the series in general. Much more is revealed about Kurisu, Mayuri moves the series forward in surprising ways, and Suzuha leads an especially brilliant subplot. This really is a series with a stupendous cast, where every character is interesting and multifaceted.
Along with the characters, the plot for this series is being handled really well. With each passing episode, Steins;Gate becomes increasingly exciting, and I’m always anxious to find out what happens next!

6 responses

  1. Yay! You see the sparkle in this show :) I’m really looking forward to what you think of the ending.
    It’s cool that you point out Suzuha, who really does have a great backstory to her, and an even more interesting future(s) ahead of her.

    January 29, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    • I quite liked Suzuha’s character design (the braids reminded me of Madotsuki from the game Yume Nikki), and her story arc turned out quite emotional! Most of her plot twists weren’t exactly big surprises, but as a character I found her both fun and meaningful.
      I’m looking forward to seeing how the rest of the series plays out. It really seems like the sort of show that *ought* to hit it big once it’s released in English–I hope Funimation will understand the need to hype a show like Steins;Gate, rather than just DBZ, Vic Mignogna, and their myriad of fanservice shows.

      January 30, 2012 at 10:21 pm

  2. Man, this is one of those series that I wish I could forget and watch again.

    January 29, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    • Aren’t those kinds of shows the best? They’re also fun to watch with friends later on, and you can (sort of) vicariously relive the experience through them. =D

      January 30, 2012 at 10:23 pm

  3. This was an absolutely fantastic series. Definitely one of the series that not only would I watch again but I would purchase so that I can always have it near me.

    January 30, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    • Hopefully it will come out this year? Funimation has licensed it, but they sometimes take a while to release things, I’ve noticed (presumably to do a good job with the English dub?). Still waiting for Shiki to come out from them, too.

      January 30, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers