Dropped Shows for Fall 2011

Perhaps I’m being a bit more of a critic than usual, but when I get bored with a show I drop it! Of course, I don’t start a show at all unless it sounds rather interesting, so these are shows I thought would be great, but ended up just not cutting it for me. Here’s a list of the shows I chose to watch for fall 2011, with the ones I dropped crossed out at the bottom:

  • Fate/Zero
  • Mirai Nikki
  • Kimi to Boku
  • Un-Go
  • Tamayura: Hitotose
  • Chihayafuru
  • Last Exile: Ginyoku no Fam

Fate/Zero has been really stellar, and Mirai Nikki has been very interesting, and gives a lot to analyze and blog about (BTW, my last two posts are lonely). The surprise show of the season is definitely Kimi to Boku though, which had a pretty slow start, but has now become a lot of fun to watch.
As for the rest of the shows, the reason I dropped each of them is pretty much the same for all of them: I just couldn’t care for the main characters.

Un-Go – I was really hoping that things would pick up and become awesome for this one, but it just became more boring as it went along. Which is a shame, since the setting was intriguing. The mysteries just weren’t satisfying, though I feel I could have overlooked that if the characters were interesting. The main protagonist was practically an empty void in terms of personality though, and his assistant started out weird and just became increasingly annoying. And then nobody stood out amongst the rest of the cast. I suppose I liked the concept of an AI with multiple forms, but again… another character with little personality (though justified in that case). Just not much going for Un-Go, in my opinion.

Tamayura – The show has its cute moments, but they’re just too few and far between I suppose. Each of the characters has one single personality quirk, and I got tired of them all. I was holding out for the characters to receive a little more depth later on, but I never felt they got any more. I got tired of the goofy way the protagonist speaks and nervously stutters (over nothing), and I got tired of the annoying girl fangirling over the protagonist’s little brother so much (and just randomly being loud for the sake of randomly being loud). And most of all, I got tired of Whistling Girl’s whistling. It’s one thing to whistle a tune as you go about your day, but communicating by whistling?! ARA ARA.

Chihayafuru – I suppose I may have gone into this show with the wrong expectations, but nevertheless, I never latched on to any of the characters. The protagonist ended up feeling like a very average shoujo protagonist (really pretty, not too bright, very energetic, etc etc), which is unfortunate since I was hoping for something a little different. Then the one boy upset me a lot for being such a jerk (I imagine he eventually gets better… but first impressions are rather important in a story). And the boy with glasses–he at least was rather sympathetic (thanks to mind-bogglingly stupid classmates)–but I just couldn’t care for how incredibly obsessive he was over that card game. But perhaps the biggest problem I had with Chihayafuru was not in its premise, but in its execution. It just couldn’t seem to make up its mind regarding tone, atmosphere, and pacing.
I was also upset whenever the characters knocked away a dozen cards every single time they went to grab a card. The whole game just seems rather pointless if you can just whack away half the cards on your opponent’s side like that!

Last Exile: Ginyoku no Fam – Fam, her co-pilot, and the princesses were all just… kind of boring, I guess. The series looked promising at first, but then all the episodes that followed just didn’t interest me. Perhaps something I loved about the first Last Exile was its really diverse cast, but in Ginyoku no Fam, nearly everyone’s a loli girl.
There *is* Dio, but his presence is fairly minimal, and I’m still a little perplexed by his miraculous resurrection. But other than Dio, everyone feels a little generic.
The fanservice moments weren’t helping, either. I realize the studio wants some $$Yen$$, but I think they could’ve done with a bit more serious of a cast.

Of course, all of this is a matter of opinion! One person’s favorite character will be another person’s least favorite character. I can name a few really popular anime out there with characters I find very annoying, for example.

Fun Fact: Each of the pictures in this post were taken completely randomly. If you string them together though, don’t you think they make a sort of story? Use your imagination a little!

4 responses

  1. Your choice of dropped anime seems to be at odds with the general opinion I’ve seen of fans in the anime communities I visit. More power to you for adhering to an honest opinion, though. At the moment, I plan on watching every single one of those dropped anime once they finish, and Last Exile S2 in particular sounds extremely promising.

    Even though my taste in anime clashes with yours (Dropping Cowboy Bebop so early? As Annaka would say, “EEHHHH”?), I still find myself visiting your blog because your writing style is strangely interesting.

    December 7, 2011 at 8:14 am

    • Ah, there’s been a lot of popular anime shows that just haven’t interested me… That’s just how it goes, though. =P
      I might go back to Last Exile 2 and try to marathon it some day, but I might just be content with the first series. Perhaps I’ll wait and see how the internets feels about the show overall.
      And thanks for liking my blog! I’m always (usually) trying to improve my posts. And nice job working in an (awesome) Nichijou reference!!!

      December 7, 2011 at 10:18 pm

  2. I’m watching three out of the four series you dropped!

    Un-Go: I enjoy Un-Go for its characters and the underlying messages it brings with each case. It made me ponder about harsh reality of life in general actually.

    Tamayura: The pacing is a bit slow and cute moments are indeed rare. But it has gorgeous backdrop and soothing music, and I like that. It happens to be the show I look forward to the most maybe because I’m having a rough time at work and am looking forward to something light to watch.

    Chihayafuru: Hmm..I just realized I didn’t watch Chihayafuru for its characters or even its story. I’m watching it for the excitement and adrenaline rush and the show has it.

    But you’re right. What we like and not is only matter of our own opinion. At least we both agree Fate/Zero is stellar!

    P.S what story did you exactly imagined with those screenshots?

    December 8, 2011 at 7:08 am

    • The intriguing themes of Un-Go were what kept me going with it as long as I had (along with the peculiar setting in general), but the focus was generally more on the mysteries that weren’t really mysteries, and I just couldn’t get behind the characters.
      I do like quiet, soothing shows, but Tamayura’s characters just bothered me too much. I may be spoiled by Aria, which pulled off the quiet, soothing tone perfectly with its loveable cast. Speaking of Aria, I really need to get to the next two seasons with that some time…
      I think Fate/Zero and Mirai Nikki has Chihayafuru beat in terms of adrenaline rush, so I think I’m set there. XP

      And I was just being silly about there being any kind of coherent story in those pictures. =P

      December 10, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers